2000 News

NBC Names Matt Vasgersian XFL Play-by-Play Announcer FOX Sports Net and Brewers Announcer Joins Jesse Ventura Reporters Adamle and Roggin Complete NBC's XFL Team
Nov 16, 2000
Nov. 16 -- Matt Vasgersian has been named NBC's play-by-play announcer for the network's Saturday night XFL broadcasts. Vasgersian, 33, will work alongside analyst Jesse Ventura. The announcement was made today by Dick Ebersol, Chairman NBC Sports.

Since 1997, Vasgersian has been the Milwaukee Brewers television play-by-play announcer. For the past year, he has hosted "Sports Geniuses," the sports trivia game show on FOX Sports Net.

"Matt Vasgersian is one of the best young talents I've seen in a long time," Ebersol said. "His enthusiastic and creative style and quick wit will be a great complement to Jesse's candor and fresh perspective. They will definitely keep the fans entertained."

Said Vasgersian, "I made it clear from the outset that if they were looking for a Ronnie Radio-type, I was the wrong guy. I'm really excited to be part of something that doesn't require clichéd sports-speak at every turn. And I can't wait to give the governor a harrumph."

Mike Adamle and Fred Roggin will handle reporting duties on NBC's Saturday night XFL broadcasts. Adamle is the sports director at WMAQ, NBC's owned and operated station in Chicago and a seven-year NFL veteran. Roggin is the sports director at KNBC, NBC's owned and operated station in Los Angeles. Both were part of NBC's broadcast team for the Sydney Olympic Games.

"Never have reporters been more important than they will be on XFL broadcasts," said Ebersol. "With our 'all-access' approach, Mike and Fred will be called upon to bring viewers closer to the action by interviewing players and coaches during the games. They will add a great deal to the fan's experience each Saturday night."

NBC's XFL coverage will provide viewers with an "all-access backstage pass" through the use of cameras and microphones placed everywhere from the players and coaches themselves to the huddles and sidelines. Adamle and Roggin's in-game interviews will for the first time provide viewers with immediate insights from coaches and players on current game situations.

The XFL, which is co-owned and operated by WWE, Inc. and NBC, begins its first season on Saturday, Feb. 3, 2001. NBC will televise a weekly game in primetime each Saturday at 8 p.m. ET.

The XFL's eight teams will play a 10-week regular season and a two-week playoff, culminating with the XFL championship game on April 21, 2001. XFL rule modifications - most notably its "no fair catch" rule - are designed to add excitement while encouraging offense.

The eight teams are: Birmingham Thunderbolts, Chicago Enforcers, New York/New Jersey Hitmen, Orlando Rage, Memphis Maniax, San Francisco Demons, Los Angeles Xtreme and Las Vegas Outlaws.